FFfAW: Prized Possessions

photo-20170109154625698.jpg

Rosie picked up two small felt dolls. They looked old and worn.

“Hey, Ma,” she called, “I’m gonna throw out these ornaments.” She looked down at them, the boy wore a faded green cap and the girl was dressed in red, with remnants of brown hair.

Her mother entered the room from the kitchen.

“Your father and I won those at a dance competition.”

“Dance competition?”

“Yeah on the boat over here”

“Wait,” Rosie pondered, “Weren’t you like six months pregnant?”

Rosie’s mom smiled. She twirled around and as she walked back to the kitchen said, “Don’t throw those away.”

word count: 108

This is a semi-autobiographical account. My mom and dad really did win those ornaments in a dance competition on the boat trip from Italy to New York.  Every year they hung on our tree and seemed odd Christmas ornaments to me. It wasn’t until I was a teenager and the dolls were pretty old and faded that I could do the math and realize that my mom was 6 months pregnant with my sister when she came back to America after marrying the man she met in Rome.

written for the 97th Challenge of Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, Week of 01-10 through 01-16-2017.  If you’d like to read more or submit your own click the blue froggy  below. This week’s photo prompt is provided by Louise with The Storyteller’s Abode. Thank you Louise!

14 thoughts on “FFfAW: Prized Possessions

  1. There are so many stories I will never get to hear about my parents. I do know they would go into New York City when they were dating to hear the likes of Benny Goodman, Harry James, Frank Sinatra. And they loved to dance. Love this sentimental story!

Comments are closed.