Friday Fictioneers: April 18, 1775

PHOTO PROMPT © Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

PHOTO PROMPT © Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Out past curfew, the Sexton has the keys, and furtively enters along with a vestryman. Through the dark they carefully climb to the steeple. At 191 feet high above the town, they light two lanterns and hold them shakily out the window for just a minute.

The fear of being caught does not stop them. The secret signal ensures word will spread even in the event of detainment. The signal is seen and the Sons of Liberty ride.  In the morning, the village is awake and ready. Shots are fired and the war of Independence begun.

word count: 95

This week, I was inspired by the two lanterns to write about Paul Revere’s Ride. A google search helped me with the facts. In particular, the website of Old North Church itself. I am not as nearly adept at this as our fairy blogmother, Rochelle, and don’t even pretend to be. I need to hone my skills on dialogue and being more succinct, and adding some fiction to the historical part. Baby steps, my friends.

Written for Friday Fictioneers 10.14.16 where the challenge is to write a complete story in 100 words or less. If you’d like to participate or read more click on the froggy below.

13 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: April 18, 1775

  1. Fascinating. One of the things I really love about Friday Fictioneers is learning about other times and places. Thanks for this – your story brought it to life, and gripped my imagination too. Beautifully told.

Comments are closed.