Friday Fictioneers: I’m Just Waiting on My Son

ceayr.jpg

PHOTO PROMPT © CEAyr

Her words came on a gust of wind: “I’ve sent a hundred texts! Come pick me up NOW so we can get to Aunt Sue’s in St. Pete’s!”

Ma – there’s no gas in the car,” Josh rolled  his eyes wondering what the big deal was this time.

“Josh, they said this storm will kill people. Get in the car..”

As Josh sat in the car without gas on I95 his mother crawled under a desk inside her office. When the windows began to rattle she prayed the big weeping willow wouldn’t crash through the walls and Josh would be safe.

Written for Friday Fictioneers 7 October 2016 where the challenge is to write a complete story in 100 words or less. If you’d like to participate or read more click on the froggy below. 

I’ve been out of the realm of flash fiction and the blogosphere for a few months now. I’ve been intending to get back into it but it just kept slipping away from me. Well, today I said: Dammit – I don’t care if the laundry needs to be washed and folded, lunch made, dinner cooked or that my kid is home for some random day off and yelling with his friend while they play xbox – I am going to get this done. I feel a bit rusty, but it’s good to be getting back to painting a story with words.

I’m also kind of glad I decided not to go to Florida this weekend. I hope my family, friends and everyone in Matthew’s path will be safe.

19 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: I’m Just Waiting on My Son

Comments are closed.