FFfAW: A New, Simpler Life

photo-20160724072923118.jpg

Mort leaned back against the railing. He removed his cap and wiped his sweaty brow. He placed the cap back on his sweltering head.

Janey came out with a tray of sweet tea and ham sandwiches. She set the tray down and poured two glasses. Silently, she held one glass out to him which he took and started slurping. She took the other glass and sat down on the porch swing.

She was a vision sitting there swaying gently with her checked apron covering her t-shirt and jeans. Mort watched as she sipped her tea and was enraptured.

“What?” She asked sheepishly. Gently she shook her head and her curls tumbled down from their captivity.

Mort extended his hand out to touch her fingertips. He loved her so much for leaving her job in the city to come out here with him to start a new, simpler life.

word count: 148



Written for the 75th Challenge of Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers: Week of 07-26 through 08-01-2016. Click on the blue froggy above to submit your own story or to read more. This week’s photo prompt provided by Louise with The Story Teller’s Abode. Thank you Louise!

It seems like I’ve been gone for too long. I missed the flash fiction challenges and reading everybody’s work. I wish I could say I was on a break for a good reason, but it’s just my ADDled brain was thrown a curve by this move. I am trying to get myself back into a routine and schedule.

9 thoughts on “FFfAW: A New, Simpler Life

Comments are closed.