FFfAW & Friday Fictioneers 2 for 1

Laurel looked at her husband.

“No,” he replied.

“Dan, she’s seventeen. We discussed it with her doctor. It really is the safest and most responsible thing,” Laurel’s eyes travelled from her icy husband to the frosted-over window. She felt so cold inside.

“You want her dancing on poles? That’s it – Going to pay for college by pimping her out,” Dan moved and clenched his fists and then opened his hand and ran his fingers through his hair.

Laurel shook her head, “That’s not..she’s not that kind of girl…” This time she was not going to let Dan knock her down.


I am combining two challenges this week. I know people dislike this, but I am pressed for time and space and didn’t want to favor one over the other. I used the photo of the ice on the window to depict the relationship of the husband and wife in this piece and the strawman photo for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers as inspiration for a strawman argument. I hope I got it right. Please do let me know.

Thanks to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for hosting Friday Fictioneers. Thanks to her cousin Kent at wmqcolby for the suggested retread of the photo prompt which was taken by Rochelle herself. Click the blue froggy below to submit a post to Friday Fictioneers or to read more.

Thanks to Priceless Joy for hosting Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers . Thanks to Louise with The Storyteller’s Abode for the photo prompt.  Click the blue froggy below to submit a post to FFfAW or to read more.


14 thoughts on “FFfAW & Friday Fictioneers 2 for 1

  1. I can easily imagine this conversation going on between a husband and his wife regarding their teenage daughter! In fact, there have probably been a lot of similar conversations! LOL! Great story!

  2. I like the flow of the conversation, hope they sorted things out amicably

  3. You combined the two prompts really well. 🙂 The iciness between the pair is almost palpable. I expect the daughter will go and do whatever she wants to anyway – most seventeen year old I know would! Great story with dialogue that flows perfectly.

  4. Dear MTO,

    The story actually works. My complaint with combining prompts is that they end up feeling contrived and stilted, particularly the five word one. I’ve yet to see one of those that I thought worked. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

Comments are closed.