Friday Fictioneers: Safe For Now

I pressed a button to cool the atmosphere inside my helmet. Something was coming over the distorted ridgetop. I feared it was a Tebea. There was nowhere to hide in this desolate place. I drew my gun.

I could make out its two large eyes. Reputedly, they could hypnotise a man in three seconds and rip him apart like boiled chicken. A cloud of dust whirled around me and I could hear the murmur of an engine. A jeep stopped within inches of me, “Dr. Brisbane?” the driver yelled,”When you didn’t arrive, we worried.” I was safe for now.


word count: 99
written for Friday Fictioneers, hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. This week’s retread request is from Jennifer Pendergast.  PHOTO PROMPT © Douglas M. MacIlroy. All photos are private property and subject to copyright. Use other than Friday Fictioneers by permission only. 


 

5 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Safe For Now

Comments are closed.