SYW: Week 22

Share Your World Week 22

I’ll just blame the holiday (Memorial Day here in the States) for me being a little off this week. First, I couldn’t find the SYW Week 22 questions and then I found that I answered the questions for week 21 but never posted them! So I did that now. Then I planned to reblog an article to my other site (thisobscurelife.wordpress.com) but it reblogged here. Now I am posting my answers to week 22. I apologize for the multi-posts in one day. I try  not to do that.

041514-sywbanner

Every country in the world has lost men and women in some kind of Armed Forces.  When does your country celebrate or mourn their deaths? (Optional)

I am American, so it was this past monday, Memorial Day.

What is your favorite holiday or holidays?

Although, I am no longer a practicing-Catholic or a believer, Christmas is still my favorite holiday. I love the good cheer everyone seems to have a bit of, the greenery, the lights bought into the home at a dark time, the songs, the gift-giving, the cookies. Now with my son I am loving experiencing it all on a new level. He loves Christmas and the magic of Santa Claus. He believes it’s better to receive than give, but I am working on that one.

I call it a solstice celebration, but the rest of my extended family, and most everyone else celebrates Christmas so that’s what it truly is now.

How do you celebrate that holiday?

I think I answered that in the last question. I’ll just add that we decorate a tree, watch all the movies on tv, hang stockings and leave presents under the tree. We also have a big Christmas Eve dinner and then just relax on Christmas Day. At New Year’s Ayios Vasili comes and brings a present for my son and I bake a vasolopita with a coin hidden inside. Whomever finds the coin in their slice will have luck that year. It’s a blend of American, Italian and Greek traditions in our home.

5 thoughts on “SYW: Week 22

Comments are closed.