Friday Fictioneers: Girls Riding in Busses

jhc7.jpg

PHOTO PROMPT © J Hardy Carroll

 Some adventure this turned out to be. The girls had met at Grand Central early in the morning and boarded the bus for Albany. At the station in Albany they had franks heated by red lights rather than the dirty water dogs they were used to eating. During the trip Anjuli exclaimed “Moo” each and every time she saw a cow. Between Albany and Utica it was starting to wear thin.

Walking into the flat white building, their jaws dropped. It was absolutely stunning; like a church. The girls began to speak in hushed tones.  Memories were beginning unnoticed.

word count: 99

Not absolutely pleased with this one. The photo immediately reminded me of the bus station in Utica NY where I caught a bus for camp in Oswegatchie, NY. I went with two friends when I was 16. My older sister (who left home when I was 12) couldn’t believe my parents had let me travel alone, but I think I told them I was going with teachers. The teachers and other students from my school carpooled and we met them up there. It was such a liberating and eye-opening experience for my sheltered city-living self. It was the one and only time I had ever been to camp. Although fitting into the 100-word-limit, I don’t feel it is much of a story. I need more practice writing from reality – or more words.

Written in response to Friday Fictioneershosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields who challenges us to think outside the box and write a story of 100 WORDS OR LESS from the given photo prompt. This week’s photo prompt provided by J Hardy Carroll. Thank you.

12 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Girls Riding in Busses

  1. I’m not entirely clear where they’ve gone to, but I don’t think it matters. The sense of the journey from the familiar to wonder is clear. And the line “Memories were beginning unnoticed.” is lovely

Comments are closed.