FFfAW: Tilting at Windmills

 

photo-20160418071828242.jpgThe Wise Penny was on a corner off a busy avenue and a narrow one way street.  I tried to drive around the block to find that narrow street, but all the narrow one-way streets spit me out onto another busy street that merged with the busy avenue. I parked at the corner and put on my hazard lights.

As I was retrieving a large item for donation, I heard an angry, bitter word cut through the air: Asshole! I realized it was directed at me. An elderly, I hesitate to say, gentleman was pulling out from the parking spot in front of me.

I could have easily moved my car, even though he had plenty of space to get out.  Yet, I took offense at his word, chivalry was truly dead, and I did not move the car. If he had asked me nicely, then I would not have hesitated.

word count: 151


Written in response to the 62nd Challenge of Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, Week of 04-1 t9hrough 04-25-2016. This week’s photo prompt is provided by TJ Paris. Thank you TJ!

This is a true story. It happened to me this weekend. I am always shocked when old people curse for some reason. I had been stuck on this post, reaching for far out horizons that were beyond my means. I instantly thought of Don Quixote when I saw the windmill and wanted to do a post on tilting at windmills. As the song by Nik Kershaw says, “We are all men from La Mancha.” We all have our imaginary enemies and pretenses.

 

 

5 thoughts on “FFfAW: Tilting at Windmills

  1. I’m sorry this really happened to you. I think he was being a grumpy old man! Yes, we do all have our imaginary enemies and pretenses and hopefully will learn from people like this rather than being people like this. Great story!

Comments are closed.