Friday Fictioneers: Rituals

ted-t.jpg

PHOTO PROMPT – © Ted Strutz

It was quiet and still in the kitchen. The late morning light shimmered through the window. Francis found a vase in a cupboard and filled it with water. He cut the stems as he remembered Gladys doing every Saturday morning. He placed the flowers in the glass vase. He set it down gingerly on the kitchen table. He poured himself a mug of coffee and sat down. He admired the flowers. So bright and beautiful just like Gladys. A gentle breeze came in through the open window and kissed his cheek. Francis smiled as his eyes began to water.

word count: 99

Written in response to Friday Fictioneers, hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields who challenges us to think outside the box and write a story of 100 WORDS OR LESS from the given photo prompt. This week’s photo prompt provided by Ted Strutz.

I have to admit that I was stumped this week. I did a free write that mostly consisted of the word nothing repeatedly. And if I am being totally honest, it was the same last week, which is why that post began with “There’s nothing,” he said. I couldn’t very well start from there again. So I exhaled, put on some music, and did another five-minute free write. I pulled the above story from the last two sentences of that free write. I am trying to challenge myself to keep to under a 100 words and to push myself to write even if at first, and second and third glance – I have nothing. Even if that writing is not very good. And there you have it.

17 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Rituals

  1. I had trouble this week too. I like how you describe his actions step by step until, in the end, he finds a moment of peace. Great free write.

  2. Dear MTO,

    Your piece is sweet and poignant. I could feel the breeze and the kiss on the wind. Don’t be so quick to run yourself down. 😉 I understand writer’s block. Have had a bit of it meself these days in FF. Nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

Comments are closed.