SYW: Week 10

SHARE YOUR WORLD – 2016 WEEK 10

I love this disclaimer Cee posted this week: With your answers, please remember we are in the SYW world and which may not always match our reality.

If you’d like to join in, just click the link above.

What would you ask for if a genie granted you three wishes?

Peace, Love, and Understanding

What experiences are most meaningful to you?

every single one, I believe everything has meaning.

As a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?

I adored animals. The 2nd grade curriculum included farm life and farm animals, probably because Albany,the state capital, is in upstate New York. As a city kid who didn’t know better, I idealized farm life. My best friend and I were going to grow up and have houses side by side on a farm filled with adorable farm animals and wear denim overalls. Later, I changed it to veterinarian not realizing someone would have to pay for vet school. Yeah, that never happened. My big sister still ribs me about wanting to be a farmer and belonging to the FFA in High School.

Complete this sentence:  The best day of my life was….

…the night of the black out 1977. I lived in Queens – no looting there. Everyone on the block came out and we set off fireworks and opened up the fire hydrant and got to stay up late. My brother was at Shea stadium with a friend when all the lights went out. Adults listened to transistor radios and sat chatting on stoops while we kids played and ran through the sprinklers. 

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Hmmm…last week, I don’t remember much, I did have a stomach bug over the weekend which wasn’t much fun. Yesterday was the meeting with my son’s teacher. He actually got rave reviews and is doing much better. His teacher seems awesome and very willing to meet him where he needs to be met. I am so grateful for that, for while I love my son, I do realize how difficult and challenging he can be at times. I wish my mom were still alive to see how he is driving me crazy, just like I did to her! 

I am looking forward to volunteering at Petco taking care of the cats up for adoption. I  have training this Saturday.

 

 


 

For more about the blackout of 1977 with images checkout mashable.

4 thoughts on “SYW: Week 10

Comments are closed.