Friday Fictioneers: Sands of Time

crook.jpg

PHOTO PROMPT – © Sandra Crook

Around another corner, I found Sasha. He lay curled up on the ground. He was sobbing but no noise came from him. I limped over to him, leaving a traceable line in the dirt. His eyes were two dark tunnels with specks of light far off in the distance. He tried to turn his head to look at something. I continued his gaze. There it was! I slowly gathered myself up and walked to it. They had told us ‘Life is expendable, but time only an illusion’. “I’m sorry,” I said as I took hold and turned the wheel.

word count: 99

Written in response to Friday Fictioneers, hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields who challenges us to think outside the box and write a story of 100 WORDS OR LESS from the given photo prompt. This week’s photo prompt provided by Sandra Cook.

10 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Sands of Time

  1. And so Sasha moves on. But what about the narrator. Who turns the wheel for them?
    A moving piece of prose especially in these turbulent times in the Middle East and parts of Africa.

  2. Your last reply is so true. I read the story, digest it, and then read the comments. Very interesting to see how others have interpreted your writings. I imagine that if you were allowed more words, our views would begin to coalesce. What fun would that be? 🙂

Comments are closed.