Friday Fictioneers: Letting the Days Go By

trg1.jpg

For fifty plus hours a week, Lacey improves the organization’s efficiency and profitability. She is becoming tired of climbing a ladder that seems to have no end. She tweets 140-character haikus during briefings.

At lunch, she sits in the park. She regards a single yellow daffodil as she fiddles with the diamond ring on her finger.  A question germinates in the back of her mind, but hasn’t taken root yet. She gets up, smooths her skirt, and goes back to work. She squelches an urge to pluck the flower. It would only wither and die if she did.

word count: 98

Written in response to Friday Fictioneers, hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields who challenges us to think outside the box and write a story of 100 WORDS OR LESS from the given photo prompt. This week’s photo prompt provided by© The Reclining Gentleman.

As I was writing this and rewriting this, and hacking away at it with an ax, and editing and re-editing, the song Once in a Lifetime by the Talking Heads started running through my head. I credit it with further inspiration (although it is one of those songs that is often playing in my head).

8 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Letting the Days Go By

  1. Maybe she lets the doubts about her way of life grow and thrive like she does the flower. Very thoughtful story. Work isn’t everything in life, but having enough money makes you independent. So, what will she do?

  2. Dear MTO,

    In a hundred words you’ve created a three dimensional characters. I felt like I was right there with her. The twisting of the engagement ring on her finger was masterful and told me so much. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Thanks Rochelle for your input. I wanted to say it is really valuable coming from you, but on second thought every comment from everyone here is valuable. I am really challenging myself with the 100 word limit – it’s not always easy.

Comments are closed.