FFfAW: Gussie

photo-20160201102308272.jpgWe inherited the house when Pa died. It’s been a blessing. I’m keeping up with Ma’s garden and her Aphrodite roses. Pa would never forgive it if I didn’t.

We also inherited Gussie. Pa was always tinkering with that thing for as long as I can remember. I was going to donate it, but it’s such a part of the landscape of my life. Matt thought it an eyesore. He went and gussied old Gussie up. He’s going to plant flowers in her and make her pretty. Ma would approve.

word count: 92

Written for the 51st Challenge of Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, hosted by Priceless Joy, week of 02-02 through 02-08-2016. This week’s photo prompt is provided by pixabay.com (free to use images)

 

 

800px-Aphrodite_(Tantau_2006).JPG

11 thoughts on “FFfAW: Gussie

  1. I love the idea of planting flowers in old Gussie! Loved your story – it was very creative and unique. The flower picture is beautiful. Is that an antique rose?

Comments are closed.