FFfAW: Serendipity

photo-20160125132605717.jpg

It was a beautiful sunny day, as it was almost every day. An elderly woman meandered over to some sunflowers. “Aren’t you lovely,” she said stroking them gently.

A second lady walked over to her. “Hello,” she said,”are you talking to these flowers?”

“Well…” the woman blushed and looked away.

The second woman cupped a flower gingerly and leaned in. “Hello. I’m Fine. How are you?” she spoke to the sunflower in her hand.

“Oh my gosh – Carol?”

“Yes – Paula?”

The two women chuckled and embraced. It had been a long time since the two friends had last met.

word count: 100

Written for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers 50th Challenge, week of January 26, 2016. This week’s photo prompt is provided by Sonya, owner of the blog, Only 100 Words. Thank you Sonya! As soon as I saw the photo of the sunflowers I was taken back to my childhood and The Magic Garden. The two women have been life long friends and still perform together to this day. In my story however, the characters have left the land of make believe for the land of reality and stumble upon the chuckle patch in a bit of serendipity many years later.

To read more submissions go here

16 thoughts on “FFfAW: Serendipity

  1. A lovely encounter of two long lost friends.
    If I might I would like to mention … The last two words would work better if they were
    exchanged …. had last met … instead of … had met last. They have two different meanings. I hope it’s okay that I pointed this out.
    Great story!!!!
    Isadora 😎

  2. All the gardeners I know talk to their flowers like old friends, so this is a great play on that. Nicely done!

Comments are closed.