FFfAW: Last Game

The following was written in response to the 48th Challenge for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers for the Week of 01-12 through 01-18-2016.

click here to read more or to submit your own.

photo-20160111132111179.jpg

Photo prompt provided by Etol Bagam

The Last Game

“Let’s play  — Could be our last game.”

That was David, always so dramatic. I watched him walk deliberately over to the pool table.  After high school he joined the Air Force like his old man. He had already made 2nd Liuetenant. I had my Associate’s of Science degree. I walked over to him.

“I asked Marge to marry me.”

I blinked. He skillfully broke the balls. I blinked again. I pulled him by the neck and I kissed him. He kissed me back. Then he pulled away.

“I’m going to marry Marge.”

He patted me on the back and handed me a cue stick. We played in silence.

Two days later he would be shipped overseas to fight in The War for the Greater Good.

word count: 125

 

 

15 thoughts on “FFfAW: Last Game

  1. I must have read this story 10 times trying to figure out exactly WHAT is going on lol. I have to admit, the fact that this story hides so much intrigues me.

  2. An interesting story. Having just read ‘Lost’ I gather he never does fully recover from David’s loss. Very sad – he must have loved him a great deal.

    • It’s about two long-time friends with an unrequited love for each other, one is just coming to terms with his feelings, the other is going to get married but is sent away to war and doesn’t return. So there is no resolution. There was a lot in my head with this one, but had to pare it down.

      • I always try not to give people false hopes, and hopefully, people won’t give me false hopes with their comments. If I come across something I don’t like, I usually just don’t comment. But your story was intriguing and I liked the style, just could not connect the dots in the correct order, so to speak.

        So thank you for the explanation. I suspected the first part, just didn’t see where the ‘The War for the Greater Good’ fitted in. Now I do, and it makes your story that much more powerful.

        PS: I generally take the word count as a guide (I went over by a hundred words once and nobody said anything) – especially if I know that it will make the story stronger / clearer. The challenge is one thing, but for me it’s always more about telling a story, than hitting the word limit.

Comments are closed.