Friday Fictioneer: Janet Airliner

This week’s prompt over at Friday Fictioneers really stumped me. I kept thinking about plane crashes and 9/11 but really wasn’t in the mood to go there today. After a quick google search I learned that there is a secret airline named Janet that flies in and out of restricted areas from Las Vegas daily. I had wanted to write something sci-fi or supernatural but my pragmatic, literal mind just wouldn’t let me. Oh and there was the 100-word limit to consider. It was getting late in the day and I needed to just get it done, as I am trying to push myself this year rather than just not participating when the prompt doesn’t speak to me. I don’t feel it’s a complete story, but hope that’s ok. To read more stories or to submit your own go here.

melanie-greenwood.jpg

His eyes were wide as he took the glass from my hand. Shakily he set it down on the tray and mumbled a thank you without looking at me.

On final approach to McCarran he jumped up from his chair suddenly. I blocked the aisle and asked him to return to his seat. He stood there a moment scratching the back of his neck. He nodded slowly, then hurried to his seat.

His clammy hand tightly grasped mine as he tried to kiss me while deplaning. I exchanged a knowing glance with the First Officer on my left.

word count: 98

janetn319bd

A Janet Boeing 737-600
6 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneer: Janet Airliner

  1. The scene is very vivid, and also leaves many questions open, especially with the area51/secrecy connection. There’s certainly room for more story in that scene. 🙂

Comments are closed.