Friday Fictioneers: A New Friend for Wendy

The challenge at Friday Fictioneers is to write a 100-word story in response to the photo prompt. To read more flash fiction or to submit your own please go here.

jhc5

PHOTO PROMPT – © J Hardy Carroll

A New Friend For Wendy

“Hello.”

Wendy stopped. The salutation came from the church yard followed by giggles. She looked up the street. Her mom was far away, she could just run in and see who it was.

Wendy called out bravely: “Hi! Who’s there?”

“Tag, you’re it,” a little girl squealed as she tapped Wendy’s arm.

Wendy gleefully ran after her new friend.

“Wendy!”

Her mother had reached the iron gates.

“Wendy, get back here now!”

“I gotta go,” Wendy shouted, “Maybe I can play later.”

“Who were you shouting to,” her mother asked.

“My new friend.”

“There’s no one there.”

“Oh, she’s hiding.”

word count: 100

From the picture I thought of a ghost girl, from what seems to be two girls in white dresses in the picture. However, I am not one to tell scary, ghost stories. I can appreciate them, I’m just not good at telling them. Somehow, my next association was Casper – The Friendly Ghost.

12 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: A New Friend for Wendy

  1. Ghost girl or imaginary friend, kids seem to live in a completely different world, sometimes. Maybe we should get back and visit from time to time. Loved the story.

    • Having a child of my own, I am watching his transition from world of wonder to a more pragmatic reality. I understand it’s necessary, but am wistful none the less. I always try to visit when I can!

Comments are closed.