Friday Fictioneers: A Ticket to Anywhere

The theme of escape continues with this weeks submission for Friday Fictioneers. The challenge is to write a 100-word story in response to the photo prompt. This weeks photo is provided by Ron Pruitt and first appeared in October 2012 when Rochelle first took over the wheel. To read more flash fiction or to submit your own please go here.
copyright-ron-pruitt

Juniper was working the day shift at Shoney’s. Dad was sleeping it off on the couch. I got the coffee can from the top shelf without a sound. I didn’t even count it, just hightailed it out of there. I had enough for a one-way ticket on the next bus to wherever it was going.

A big guy in a cowboy hat winked and put his sweaty hand on my knee. I stepped on his foot as I moved to a seat next to the driver. Whatever was to come would be a party compared to what had been.

word count: 99

26 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: A Ticket to Anywhere

  1. I hope the prediction comes true. Like they say, “The grass may look greener on the other side of the fence, but you still have to mow it.”

Comments are closed.