FFFAW: Temerity

The 36th Challenge foFlash Fiction for Aspiring Writers, Week of 10-20 through 10-26-2015, gave us a photo prompt of a butterfly with a broken wing, provided by TJ Paris.

I had so many ideas for this weeks prompt, but time seems to have slipped through a sieve. So here is what I have, it’s a bit too straightforward for me, but it is done. That is more than I have been doing in the last couple of weeks.

If you’d like to read more takes on the prompt or submit one of your own please visit here.wpid-photo-20151019153422897

All I need is a quiet place to rest and eat. I have crawled and climbed and hidden away from this world. But I came back, emerged from my cocoon reinvigorated and ready to conquer the world. I flew high and far and fast. They tried to eat me, but I got away. I may be broken, but I’m not through. They think I am beaten, that I can no longer fly. I can fly, as long as there is life in me, I can still fly.

8 thoughts on “FFFAW: Temerity

  1. YES! I feel so inspired and empowered to keep moving forward. I think anyone and everyone can connect to this piece at any point in their lives; it’s so eloquent, smooth, real, and courageous. I love it and look forward to your next piece.

  2. I like the temerity of this story and of the butterfly! It is encouraging and inspiring, so although you may have run out of time you still tackled the prompt boldly and put forth a gritty and real piece.

Comments are closed.