The Language of Candy

This week is the 30th Challenge for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers. This week’s photo is from pricelessjoy.com for the week of 09-08 through 09-15-2015, with this quote:

It’s not what you look at that matters, it’s what you see.”  Henry David Thoreau
 I know that this is not a candy brittle made from pignoli (pine nuts), but that is exactly what it reminded me of.

wpid-photo-20150907075906099

The Language of Candy

A large rock split open the small oblong shell. Inside was a tiny white nut. My cousin tapped me and waved around a tin cup. I put my nut in with the others. I searched the ground for more and smashed them open. When the tin cup was full we ran to the house. Giving the cup to Nonno he threw them in a hot skillet and worked magic. My cousins chittered excitedly in a language I couldn’t comprehend. Visiting my father’s homeland for the first time was exciting. When the brittle was done, we all smiled the same.

word count: 99

What do you see? Please go to Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers  to add your story or to read others.

5 thoughts on “The Language of Candy

  1. This is wonderful! I love that although they couldn’t understand each other, they all smiled the same. Great story with the perfect ending! Thank you for participating in the Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers Challenge!

Comments are closed.