Swan Song


“Lift and spread,” I heard her say.

I was lifting and spreading. What I wasn’t doing was taking off. It was odd  –  this solid, heavy feeling. And cold, why was it so cold?

My worst mission yet. As soon as I touched down I was spotted. And here I am. Pristina is whispering commands. They must have sent her as rescue. I don’t understand why I can’t move. I don’t understand why people keep gaping and snapping photos of me. I also don’t know why I am sweating yet feel so cold?

“It’s not cold. You are,” were the last words I heard.

+++++++

This week’s photo prompt is provided by Sonya O. Thank you Sonya!

Submitted for the 22nd Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers Week of 07-15 thru 07-21-2015. Please be sure to check out the site to read some great flash fiction, to submit some great flash fiction or just for inspiration.

2 thoughts on “ Swan Song

  1. Almost like being in a dream and thinking it is real or feeling something is happening and thinking it’s a dream. Excellent story! Thank you for participating. I will be sending out a new prompt later this evening for this week’s stories. I hope you will also participate with that prompt.

Comments are closed.