NaPoWriMo 2015: Day 29

It’s the penultimate day of NaPoWriMo 2015 and I have not been consistent this year at all. Well, there’s always today and tomorrow, and then again next year.

I challenge you to write a poem in the form of a review. You can review either animate or inanimate things, real places or imaginary places. You can write in the style of an online review (think Yelp) or something more formal that you might find in a newspaper or magazine. (I imagine that bad reviews of past boyfriends/girlfriends might be an easy way to get into this prompt, though really, you can “review” anything in your poem, from summer reading lists for third graders to the idea of the fourth dimension).

Nah, not feeling that today.

What is poetry?

Sculpted and formed,

Rhymes and meters, of

Measured verse –

This – this is not

The spontaneous overflow of powerful feelings…

…emotion recollected” –

Wordsworth says,

…pleasure, not truth…

Says Coleridge,

– or something close

Dickinson said she could feel it physically,

Poetry – like those

Thomas writes: “If you want a definition of poetry, say,

‘Poetry is what makes me laugh or cry or yawn,

What makes my toenails twinkle,

What makes me want to do this or that or nothing’

And let it go at that.”

My toenails have never twinkled,

Except maybe that time I stubbed my toe,

Conclusively, therefore poetry is painful.

(At least, it is for me)

Poetry is a wide open sea

Expressions which rise and fall

Moving you physically

Mine is not like his

Poetry just is.

Let it go at that

Be sure to check out NaPoWriMo.net for better poetry submissions.

