NaPoWriMo 2015: Day 16*

Lately, I’ve been feeling kinda like this:

And now for something completely different –

And now for the NaPoWriMO prompt! Today, I challenge you to write in the form known as the terzanelle. A hybrid of the villanelle and terza rima, terzanelles consist of five three-line stanzas and a concluding quatrain. Lines and rhymes are chained throughout the poem, so that the middle line of each triplet is repeated as the last line of the following triplet (or, for the last triplet, in the concluding quatrain). The pattern goes like this:

ABA
bCB
cDC
dED
eFE
fAFA or fFAA


When I start, I most likely finish

April, this year, came most inconveniently

Just like when I broke that dish

Shattering across the kitchen, calamitously

Halting the works in progress

Drawing my efforts elsewhere, inconveniently

Current occupation left unattended in the process

But these are all just excuses

For why, for days, there hasn’t been any progress

And my muse has been out of use

Never was a very reliable gal

And – I’m all out of sorry ass excuses

I’m just not any good, is my rationale –

For days gone and passed

With no word from this gal

Like that dish, calamitously, hopes are smashed

On the rocks of mediocrity, dashed

Alas, I care not, with hope I will not despair

But start again from here –

*there are days missing in the sequence

