Dress It Up

The Daily prompt on WordPress today  asks:

Is there a period in your own personal life that you think of as the good old days? Tell us a story about those innocent and/or exciting times (or lack thereof).

The title for this prompt reads –

Salad Days

I’ve heard of the good old days. They are a time that no longer exists, but in memory and are clouded by nostalgia. But what the heck are “salad days?” Is it the time in your life when you decide to diet in hope of changing the future? That doesn’t sound very good to me. I’m not much of a salad person, unless it’s on top of pizza. For me, the thought of salad is not exciting at all.

I could conjure up some good old days. Times when I was younger, thinner and more carefree. When I could play outside for hours and not worry about errands, chores, or bills. A time before life became immediate, ASAP, in the spotlight, in your face, in your pocket, always-at-hand technology saturated. But truth be told, even those good old days weren’t all good. There was homework, and peer pressure and the future loomed large. I was a chubby kid and my worst nightmare was there would be a fire drill during gym class. And while my former high school buddies are all waxing nostalgic about our good old days in school, I am glad they are behind me. I cherish my pals from those days and all the fun we had together, but there was a lot of dark days as well. If I had to choose, for me my glory days would be my early twenties. That was the time when I left home, got a job, put myself through college and gained my independence. And if I didn’t feel my best, I could always dress myself up and go out on the town.

What I lacked was money, but I managed. I look back on those days and am proud of myself. Was I perfect? No, I was young and naive. I made a lot of mistakes. I didn’t have much opportunity. But I had gumption and I was full of hope and determination. I was going to be somebody!

If I look back now, I can see that the silver lining changed to dark clouds. Sometimes I feel sorry for that kid. Then I shake it off. Dark clouds lead to rain. Rain replenishes the earth and the soul.  I am somebody. We all are. It doesn’t matter what standards society has set up for us. My life is mine. The good and the bad mix together to make the person I am today. It is like a salad. Lettuce is not very exciting. It’s flavorless and watery and tends to wilt quickly. Chop it up, add some carrots, pumpkin seeds, cucumber, red peppers and it’s all dressed up and ready to go out. Toss it with some oil and vinegar and it’s got pizzazz.

So, every day has the potential to be a salad day.  Start with what seems to be drab basics and chop, toss and mix it up with whatever you like. You need the oil and the vinegar to dress it up and make it a salad. So, put on your best accessory: a genuine smile and go have yourself a salad day.

Salad Days

4 thoughts on “Dress It Up

  1. Pingback: Life Is Beautiful | Rahul Creatrix's Blog

Comments are closed.