Poem a Day 2014: 21

To Chrys:

At GBMC on Wednesday, April 23, 2014

In Towson, Baltimore

Daddy always loves me

Mommy said that once he

Almost punched her

for not allowing him to eat meat.

Should I have said that?

Will we skydive while eating bananas

And doing flips with a monkey?

I won’t stop playing minecraft,

Because I’m awesome!

Gooey Poop couldn’t play

Because he’s sick

You can’t eat chocolate ice cream,

The nurses are calling,

Selenite crystals grow in a cave

Like Superman’s fortress,

Soon you’ll poop

and a tube will go up your ass

Hey Dad, shall you eat or shall you not?

I love my daddy no matter what

I love him for life

Mommy will be waiting,

While you’re dreaming.

I hope Gooey Poop get better.

 

Today, my little guy and I worked together to create a New York School poem.

Today’s prompt is to write a “New York School” poem using the recipe found here. The New York School is the name by which a group of poets that all lived in New York in the 1950s and 1960s. The most well-known members are Frank O’Hara, John Ashbery, and Kenneth Koch. Their poems are actually very different from one another, but many “New York School” poems display a sort of conversational tone, references to friends and to places in and around New York, humor, inclusion of pop culture, and a sense of the importance of art (visual, poetic, and otherwise). Here’s a fairly representative example.

In following the recipe, you can include as many (or as few) of the listed elements as you wish. Happy writing!

