2014 Poem a Day: 8

Yellow Stone Lying On The Side Of The Road

I will be overlooked in Baltimore, on a sunny day

On a day just like today, reminiscent of yesterday.

I will be overlooked in Baltimore — I stretch out my arms:

Perhaps on a Tuesday, a sunny day like today, in early spring

 

Yes, a Tuesday, since today, Tuesday, as

I try to write, I have screwed my head on

Wrong, and it is ever so difficult to proceed,

Ahead of me the long road forks, what to do?

I am at a loss.

 

Michele is overlooked. No one sees her.

There she sits quietly in the corner,

They step over her and walk past her, oblivious

To her difficulty. And she gropes for the familiarity

Of a Tuesday, the third day of the week, grocery day,

The list, the bags, the loading and unloading, and the turns…

 

From NaPoWriMo.net: Today, let’s rewrite a famous poem, giving it our own spin. While any famous poem will do, if you haven’t already got one in mind, why not try your own version of Cesar Vallejo’s Black Stone Lying on a White Stone? If you’re not exactly sure how such a poem could be “re-written,” check out this

recent poem by Stephen Burt, which riffs on Vallejo’s. Happy writing!

 

Image

