2014 POEM A DAY: 5

Who’s the One?

I

could never

describe what I saw

something of a

magical mystery purple

Holy Mother cow

I

could never

give up hope

I hold on to

all that I see

I count from one

to five but

it closes in before I

gather all the senses that I can

I dont’ know how to tell

the tale, I think of you,

Then I blink, how could it be anyhow,

It was almost as if I’d

left this plane for another where I’d rather

be, I can’t believe what I  see

I call your name, you are lovelier than

whatever it may be

yet she is here, you are gone, she must be the one.

 

I DIG: –Gelett Burgess – The Purple Cow

From NaPoWriMO.net:

Today I challenge you to write a “golden shovel.” This form was invented by Terrance Hayes in his poem, The Golden Shovel. The last word of each line of Hayes’ poem is a word from Gwendolyn Brooks’ poem We Real Cool. You can read Brooks’ poem by reading the last word of each line of Hayes’ poem! (In fact, you can do so twice, because Hayes, being ultra-ambitious, wrote a two-part golden shovel, repeating Brooks’ poem). Now, the golden shovel is a tricky form, but you can help keep it manageable by picking a short poem to shovel-ize. And there’s no need to double-up the poem you pick, like Hayes did.

 

