Light Reflections

I hold the image by its furled corner

light captured the moment

trapped in time and place.

A smiling face,

mirrored reflections on paper,

recorded, reproduced and remembered.

Birthdays, holidays, traditions and rituals —

You were a constant in my life.

In your eyes I see what was, what is and what will be

Words cannot adequately portray what you meant to me

Content with silence –

I gaze at a portal into another world

looking into ones soul, the

Spiritual breath animates my memories

I can not embrace you, nor whisper in your ear

From my eyes escapes a lone tear

###

button

Write on Edge, week 8 gave us the following prompt:

“When images become inadequate, I shall be content with silence.”
~Ansel Adams

Image courtesy of Unsplash.

This past weekend, my Uncle and godfather, aged 90, passed away. I wrote this as a sort of elegy. For some reason I struggled with words, but found solace rummaging through old photos.

Be sure to go on over and check out more at Write on Edge.

