How They Met

This week Write at the Merge asked us to either Pitch a TV pilot or write an unusual back story. Trifecta gave us the third definition of

MASK:

I’m not usually a romantic, but I immediately thought of this back story of how a couple meets. It’s more clichéd than unusual, but with some tweaking and without the constraints of a word limit it could be turned into a TV Pilot. Maybe I’m stretching it a bit, but I’m not going to sweat the small stuff. Be sure to checkout the other offerings at both Write at the Merge and Trifecta. There sure to be more inspired than mine.

How They Met

A nice bottle of a cheap Chilean red is what she needed. It had been one of those days. One of those weeks. One of those lives. The kind you wish you weren’t living.  She saw a book the other day titled: Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff. Yeah, she thought heavily, it is all small stuff, but  just like the two decades of clutter piled up in her mom’s hall closet it’s hard to deal with when it all piles up on you.

Lisa was just coming home from another long day at her boring job. It was a long way from her mom, a self-described homemaker.  Yet, was it more worthwhile? The future is a promise that things will improve. Yet nothing ever changes. It’s always more of the same. Fear and anxiety doesn’t bring change. Lisa reflected on that thought as she soaked in the tub with a glass of wine. Afterwards, she applied a mixture of mashed avocado, crushed almonds, honey and sugar to her face.

When the bottle of wine was almost finished the doorbell startled her.

Who is it, she asked at the door.

Your new neighbor, came the reply. I was wondering if you had any power? Mine is out. The words drifted in from the other side of the door.

She hadn’t even turned on a light or the TV. Lisa looked over at her alarm clock which was just a blank screen.

I think my power is out too.

Through the peephole she saw him. She opened the door.

Hi, I’m Rob. I have a flashlight. He grinned a million dollar smile as he shook the flashlight for emphasis.

I’m Lisa. Her heart sank to the bottom of her chest with that flash of white teeth.

He extended his hand. Lisa’s hands flew up to her face. She had forgotten she still had the mask on her face.

I like it. There was that smile again. Green is a good color on you

9 thoughts on “How They Met

  1. That’s adorable, and his last comment made me snort. Great work. Thank you for linking up!

    PS: Your link on the site was messed up but we’ve fixed it for you! (It looked like you had the editing link instead of the blog post link.)

  2. Oh, this was funny! My face would’ve been a sickly brown color (the blushing red beneath the mask!)

    I could relate to the contemplation of the homemaker life vs. working world. Which is better, really? Each has pros and cons, I guess.

  3. I really liked this one:~) This kind of “love” story is right up my alley. I loved how you set things up and then her realization about the “mask” but my favorite was his line “green is a good color on you.”

    Excellent take on the prompt!

Comments are closed.