Poem day 17/30

Hello, old notebook. Today, I grabbed an old notebook to scribble my thoughts in. I decided to forgo the prompt for today, because I have been getting stuck with the prompts instead of inspired. Greetings from inspiration from everyday minutiae.

I leaned over

The meeting took an instant

The attachment was passionate

Yet, should never have been

I tried to break up the two

He clung and would not let go

He clung to her and

She did not put up any fight

Willingly allowing herself

To be unravelled

More and more as she

Became longer and longer

The Velcro clung and

Freed her from the fabric

As he held on tight

To the red thread.

napo2013button1

Writing poetry has not been easy this month. I’m beginning to wonder why I decided to do the NaPoWriMo challenge. What was I thinking? Maybe that I needed a challenge to jumpstart the process? Mostly, writing has been easy for me, compared to everything else I try to do in this lifetime. It is what I like the best. It’s like prayer or meditation for me. My thoughts just spill out of my head and onto the paper, and I have a lot of thoughts that need to be siphoned out at times. What I like about my writing is it has voice and I can get pretty descriptive. Above, I personified an everyday thing like velcro and a thread from a shirt.

What I don’t like about my writing is that a lot of it is just complaining about myself, about others, about life, about how I can’t think of anything to write or just writing down what I see. That stuff is boring and bad.

How is Napowrimo going for you? Why do you write and where do you find inspiration and what are your challenges?

2 thoughts on “Poem day 17/30

Comments are closed.