Cooking with Ms. M 4/15

I guess it’s time to get my butt off the couch and make dinner.

20130415_161935

I’ve been snuggling with kitty all day. I have 2 cats, but sister cat wouldn’t let her brother near me today. Good old sibling rivalry.

20130415_162024

Drink of choice today is water. I’m not feeling my usual 80%, today is more like 40%. Ok, so maybe I have a big headache and feel fatigued because it’s tax day. Or maybe I’m still reeling from the Easter Sugar Overload. But, I just am not into cooking today. And now the news about the tragic bombing in Boston has really bought me down. I am a runner who has fallen off the wagon.  I have done the NYC marathon three times. I never did Boston, I would never qualify. I said I am a runner, I didn’t say I was a fast runner (I am the tortoise)! The Boston Marathon is the paragon, the doyenne of marathons.  My heart goes out to the people of Boston and for all of America as well.

I really don’t want to cook now, but I made a vow to try to eat out less and save some money. And looking like this I really don’t want to go out.

So, let’s just make soup. Soup makes everything better. It’s warm and soothing and easy to digest. Quick look in the fridge: finocchio, carrot, onions, carrots, miso, tofu. Perfect.

1. Chop vegetables in the chopper

20130415_183708

2. Saute 2-3 minutes in pan. Put water on to boil for noodles

20130415_184104

3. Don’t stir the noodles in the water too vigorously or you’ll splash and burn your barefoot, Yow!

20130415_185104

4. Add 4 cups water, chopped tofu and wakame to sautéed vegetables. Bring to boil and boil for 4 minutes or so.

20130415_184445

chopped firm tofu

it's all in the pot simmering

it’s all in the pot simmering

5. Spoon about 2 tbsp of miso into a bowl or mortar. Dissolve with a little bit of soup broth

20130415_185431

Barley Miso is a very healthy option

20130415_185825

Turn off the flame under the soup and mix dissolved miso back into soup.

6. Divide noodles into bowls. I used pho noodles because that’s what I had, but soba and udon are good choices . Fill with broth. Sprinkle with chopped scallion,if you have.

20130415_190749

7. Serve with hot sauce, fish sauce and soy sauce and add to your taste.

20130415_194813

This is not an authentic miso soup, but it is authentically mine.

5 thoughts on “Cooking with Ms. M 4/15

  1. I’ve done the half marathon… well in the last half. But the experience was enough for me to identify personally with these poor victims of today’s tragedy. I had soup tonight too 🙂

  2. ooh the soup looks delicious!! you drinking water ?*&%& Something is indeed rotten in the state of Denmark. Hope you feel better soon and able to do downward dog.

  3. Nice to know you are a runner! I am a half marathoner and a yogi these days. I live in the Boston area so this tragedy has consumed us. I have been writing and listening to my local NPR station all evening and into tonight. We are glad of the ending. I grew up with the marathon as a significant part of my childhood. My dad has run it 24 times and it means a lot to us.

Comments are closed.