Time to get personal

, Happy New Year!

It’s a day late: but, that’s me “a day late and a dollar short.” Always.

I’ve been thinking about this blog: thinking about what it is, what it’s not, what it could be, what it should be. I’ve been thinking about its purpose. I started it so I can spark my writing again and learn all the tech stuff I missed while being a teacher and then raising my son. I used to be tech savvy, but that was 13 years ago… I used to write html code and now barely can read my email. Thoughts, I’ve had lots of them. I always do.  I am always lost in my thoughts, like an ostrich with his head in the sand. Living in my head is easier than living in reality. Perhaps that’s why my blog lacks any personal touch. I’m a very private person, I like to live in the shadows outside of attention. This is why I write.

I wanted to write memoir-like stories. Humourous accounts about me, my life and life in general. But every time I write: poetry comes out. Is it because I have shoved my memories and parts of my being to remote areas of my brain? I do not have any skeletons in my closet, but I have swept a lot of dirt under the carpet. I choose to live in the moment, to let the past drop behind me forgotten like waves pulled out with the eventide, and move forward. Tomorrow is always another day. If I look deep inside me I will find a lot of fear and anxiety and very little humor. I don’t want to go there, so I create fictional worlds and characters.

Also, I think who wants to read about my boring life? It is boring, mundane and not very noteworthy. (I actually like it that way).Yet, why should I care? This blog goes out there like a note in a bottle dropped in the ocean. It is time to stop thinking, worrying and figuring it all out. It is time to get personal.

I won’t make a resolution: my ADD brain can’t commit to resolutions. This blog will still be a potpourri of writing, just with a dash more of me.

