Situation normal…

Overwhelmed,

Again.

Yet again,

Overwhelmed.

Slips of to-do-lists on scraps of paper and dried-out post-it notes flurry around like

Snowflakes.

LAUNDRY:  wash, dry, iron, fold and put away.

Not done.

GROCERIES:  make a menu plan, make a list, go to the store and put away.

Not done.

CATS:  feed, provide water, clean litterbox, groom and play.

Not done.

THE BOY:  wash, dress, feed, hug, kiss, entertain, and “But, Mommy Please!”

Not done.

Dust bunnies gather in corners.

Cats hiss and fur flies.

To-do-lists, dust bunnies, cat fur and petitions flurry around like

Snowflakes.

Floors not mopped, dishes not cleaned.

Dinner not done.

The boy: not listening, not stopping, not obeying, not being nice.

And me: nourishment, exercise, shower, sanity.

Not done!

Phone calls from the teacher, notes from the school, the phone goes unanswered,

emails pile up.

Phone calls not made, bills not paid.

Out in the cold.

Flurries of to-dos, must-dos, have-tos, and what-to-dos

Snowing me in.

Small, ordinary, everyday things like

Snowflakes flurrying together

Falling down on me like a

Blizzard.

If only I could remember where I left the shovel,

I wouldn’t be so —

Overwhelmed.

Inspired by a prompt from Mama Kat’s Writers Workshop: Share a moment when you felt overwhelmed.

Mama’s Losin’ It

5 thoughts on “Situation normal…

  1. I can definitely relate. Sometimes I feel like everyone wants something from me and there’s only so much time in the day (and need to find sometime for sleep) and only one me. Hope things are more relaxing this weekend.

  2. man, life can be so crazy sometimes. speaking of snowflakes and shovels, it feels like winter moved into MN today! Better find the shovel before i’m too overwhelmed and have to trudge thru the snow to find it!

  3. Ha ha I found your blog!!! I know how you feel. I don’t know how mums with more than one kid can keep everything straight in their heads!!

Comments are closed.